27 November 2018

How to calculate your sales margin

sales margin

Some SMEs minimise the importance of the sales margin. Don't make this mistake. Knowing how to calculate your sales margin correctly is essential for the survival of your small business. No more, no less. That's why today we tackle this subject in a clear, simple and practical way. Do you want to learn how to calculate your sales margin? Go ahead, start reading...

Table of contents

What exactly is sales margin?

The sales margin or gross margin is defined as the direct benefit that a company achieves when marketing a product or service. Knowing this margin is essential to verify the profitability of a business, Whatever its size and regardless of its sector of activity.

  • Being able to correctly calculate the sales margin “serves” many purposes:
  • Ensuring our small or medium-sized enterprise is achieving the profitability we had anticipated.
  • Having reliable data in order to approach sales or promotion campaigns without “getting caught out”.
  • To compare the evolution of our business with the evolution of our direct competitors.
  • To know whether or not we can hire permanent staff or temporary staff for extraordinary sales campaigns.
  • Making decisions regarding fixed remuneration or Flexible remuneration of our staff.

Etc.

How is sales margin calculated?

There are two classic ways to calculate sales margin:

  • In euros € or what experts refer to as absolute terms.
  • In percent % Relative terms.

Ignoring VAT, IGIC and other taxes, let's try to clarify how to calculate sales margin with a simple everyday example: imagine you have a clothing shop and you buy a pair of trousers from your wholesaler for 100 euros, but in your shop you put them on sale for Public sale for a value of €150. What is your sales margin?

Some would say this merchant's sales margin would be 50 %, but beware, that It isn't like that

  • If we talk in absolute terms - in Euros - the sales margin in the example would amount to €50 for each pair of trousers we sell.
  • But if we talk in relative terms – as a percentage – the sales margin in our example would be 33 % and not 50 %.

You certainly understand the first calculation well: if we buy a pair of trousers for €100 and sell them for €150, we'll put €50 in our cash register. But this doesn't mean we're making a 50% %sales margin, this is the most typical error which most novices in the subject fall into. Our sales margin in percentage, in relative terms, would be only 33 %. How do we arrive at that percentage? Using the following mathematical formula:

Sales Margin = (Selling Price – Purchase Cost) / Selling Price.

Applying this formula to our example, we would have the following mathematical operation:

Sales margin = (150-100) / 150

Sales margin = 50 / 150

Sales margin = 0,33 or 33 %.

We'd like to read your comments: Did you know how to calculate sales margin before reading this article? Was the example clear to you?

benefits-network
Edenred Spain

Related publications